top of page

What would you say if I said I was a 6'5" Chinese Man? - Where is our standard of Truth?

Hi all. This week the 'Heartbridge Discipleship Training School' is getting challenged on the topic/issue of Kingdom Sexuality. I've personally been waiting for 5 months to hear Kenny Jackson who is our guest speaker for this week, teach on the subject. He also just happens to be Maria Jackson's husband - who is the Heartbridge Ministry leader. And all three of their children are involved with this DTS right now, 2 as staff with me, and their youngest is a current student, and I'm so blessed to see this family model real life as a family in missions.

Kenny speaks all over the world and has done loads of research and studying on the subject. He has read tons of books, and 'knows his stuff' and can back up what he says. He's dedicated decades of his life to the topic and is a man who wants to speak with integrity and truth, exposing the lies we believe, and the effects these lies have on our lives, and societies across the globe, not just North America.

It's only day #2 of lectures and already I feel like I've 'bitten off more than I can chew'. So I've been taking great notes to be able to review and process more as I go.

One thing he's been challenging the students on is where is our standard of truth? and are we believing what society has been cramming down our throats consciously and sub-consciously, and wants us to believe, or are we willing to hold true to a standard. That there is right and wrong, there is a measurement that we can judge from.

To get a glimpse of our education system and our society these days in North America (and this also reflects Europe's views as well) check out this video.

Something as a class we all noticed was how often these college students said the words "I feel". And while I am not a person who dis-regards emotions and knows they are important indicators in our lives, and that God created us to be emotional beings, are they taking up too much space in our society I wonder? Do we try to squish or distort truth, or weasel away from truth through rationalization, or make excuses because it can hurt? Because we can hurt someone's feelings?

Kenny started in the first hour of lecture by inviting us to make a vow. And it was this. "I will embrace truth, even if I disagree with it."

or in other words Jesus, your truth is more important, more valuable than my opinion.

We will be called narrow minded, a bigot, sexist, intolerant etc. We might even have people spit in our faces or face other forms of persecution. But is the truth worth it? If we love people, if we love ourselves and our children or future children, won't we stand up for truth and make a personal choice to be different.

I think about this video and I think about what if someone thought that they could walk on air, and were going to walk off the side of a cliff to prove it? What would we do? Are they wrong? Is there consequences if they are? Is it worth it to tell them, or is it not our place? Do they have the right to walk of the cliff and kill themselves?

As a DTS we are getting ready to go on outreach to Chile, Brazil (for the Olympics), and the Mid-West of the USA to tour with Loren Cunningham. We will be one month in each location and performing a production called "Coming Home" which uses dance, singing, and acting to tell a modern version of the Prodigal Son story out of Luke ch. 15. We will be sharing the gospel and bringing truth, life and hope to a fatherless, bitter generation. As we prepare, are learning the production and practicing it, the truths within this story are digging deeper into our own hearts and revealing areas where we need freedom from lies and distorted views. It is a truth this generation needs, and I'm willing to give of my energy, my time, my money to proclaim and teach this truth. To expose the lies of the enemy. I can't wait to see the impact it will have as we go out. Please keep us in your prayers.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page